Business Builder Awards Winners

Posted on March 29, 2018 in ,

Business Builder Awards Winners

NSBA Business Builder Award Winners Announced



Saskatoon, SK – More than 560 business and community leaders gathered at Prairieland Park for the NSBA’s 21st Annual Business Builder Awards gala this evening. The following awards were presented:


Business Builder Award – zu

Community Builder Award – Stantec

Employee Retention & Development Award – Vendasta

Export Award – Industrial Machine & Mfg. Inc.

Member of the Year – Ken Kreutzweiser, ICR Commercial Real Estate

New Direction Award – SARCAN Recycling

Pursuit of Excellence Award – David Aplin Group

Quality Management Award – David Aplin Group

Safe Employer Award – Allnorth

Shirley Ryan Lifetime Achievement Award – Norm Wallace, Wallace Construction Specialties

Small Business Award – Complete Technologies

Team Building Award – SREDA

Young Promising Entrepreneur Award – Biktrix Electric Bikes


“On behalf of the NSBA Board and members, I congratulate this year’s Business Builder Award recipients,” says NSBA Board Chair, Alan Migneault.  “2017 presented some great opportunities and also some very challenging times, and this group of companies has not only navigated those waters, but done so with success.  They have demonstrated endurance, creativity and a commitment to our great community.  These companies and their leaders provide inspiring examples for all Saskatchewan businesses.”


This year’s awards banquet marked the return of the Text 2 Vote system for the Young Promising Entrepreneur Award, as well as the Business Builder Award. Traditionally, these awards are selected by a ballot vote by the membership during the nomination period, well in advance of the banquet. This year four finalists were determined from this member voting. Attendees at the banquet determined the winner through a ‘text-to-vote’ competition. Like our Young Promising Entrepreneur Award, the winner is ultimately be chosen by the attendees at the awards banquet!


Since its inception in 1998, the Shirley Ryan Lifetime Achievement Award is named after the NSBA’s beloved Executive Director who held her position with the organization until her official retirement in 2009. The winner of this prestigious award is Norm Wallace of Wallace Construction Specialties.


“We bill this as a night where we honour our own,” says Keith Moen, Executive Director for the NSBA. The theme for the 2018 Business Builder Awards has been coined as Building Bridges to Success. Moen says, “This evening is about acknowledging and celebrating the success, leadership, ingenuity, and in some cases, the persistence of our peers. A bridge is a perfect metaphor for business’ ability to grow and connect our city, and is timely given the opening of two new bridges in late 2018.”


For more information:

The NSBA is a member-driven and focused business association in Saskatoon that serves, promotes and protects business throughout Saskatoon and beyond. The NSBA has recently rebranded to be known simply by its acronym – NSBA – to reflect its current membership which has grown considerably beyond Saskatoon’s north end. The NSBA has developed its mandate and reputation by being a relevant, topical and effective organization that interacts with all levels of government and industry on a variety of issues for the betterment of our local economy.


Keith Moen

Executive Director


(306) 242-3060



Sign up for NSBA News
Subscribe to our email list for our weekly newsletter, upcoming events, and all the latest.

Sign Up Now