14th Annual Lessons I’ve Learned, presented by KPMG – Online Program

Welcome to the 14th Annual Lessons I’ve Learned presented by KMPG!


October 6, 2020 | Prairieland Park | Doors Open: 5:00pm | Showtime: 6:00pm


Tonight four successful and established business professionals tell their stories of accomplishments and lessons they have learned along the way.


In this online program, you will find the following:

Agenda | Question Submission | Speaker & MC Bios | Event Information | Sponsors | Past Speakers | Thank Yous


5:00pm-5:30pm Registration & Cocktails | 5:30pm-6:00pm Dinner Service | 6:00pm-8:45pm Presentations and Q&A


With this year’s socially-distanced format, we have developed a new way for you to ask questions to the speakers and panel. Instead of live mics, please submit your questions to the link below and our MC will select the questions to ask to the panel.

Ask Your Questions Here: meet.ps/lessons2020

If you need help submitting a question there will be a volunteer or NSBA staff member in each room who can assist.



Bryan McCrea, 3Twenty Modular, Lessons I’ve Learned MC

Bryan is co-founder of 3Twenty Modular, an innovative Saskatoon based company that builds modular buildings for the mining, oil, gas, and construction sectors.

He was the Past Chair of the NSBA for both 2018 and 2019.


Chief Darcy Bear, Whitecap Dakota First Nation


Recognized in his community for his outstanding contributions for economic growth, business, and community development, Chief Darcy Bear has proven what a strong leader looks like.

Since Chief Bear was elected to council in 1991, and three years later becoming Chief, he has made many strides in the business community as well as a dedication to the betterment of First Nation communities by being instrumental in developing in self-governing land code, advocating for both federal and provincial governments for First Nations participation as an equal partner in the Building Canada Fund infrastructure programs, and part of many business boards and committees such as: Saskatoon Economic Development Authority, SaskTel, Saskatchewan Indian Institute of Technologies, Peace Hills Trust, Whitecap Development Corporation, Saskatchewan Indian Gaming Institute, SaskPower, and the Lands Advisory Board.

Receiving many awards during his role as Chief, Chief Darcy Bear has been awarded the Saskatchewan Order of Merit (2011), The Diamond Jubilee Medal (2012), and awarded the Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business Hall of Lifetime Achievement Award (in 2016)

A trailblazer, at the forefront of change for aboriginal communities, Chief Darcy Bear has shown what it means to be an innovative leader.


Pam Leyland, Rawlco Radio

Pam began as a News Anchor for Rawlco Radio in 1982. This evolved into News Director, Operations Manager, and Vice-President and General Manager of Rawlco’s three stations in Saskatoon (C95 FM, Rock 102 FM and News Talk 650).

In 2001, Pam Leyland became President of Rawlco Radio, and now looks after 7 dynamic radio stations spanning across Saskatchewan to Alberta, as well as being an active member in the broadcasting industry sitting in for Canadian Association of Broadcasters’ Radio Board for 3 terms, a member of the Saskatchewan Association of Broadcasters, The Western Association of Broadcasters and Canadian Women in Communications.

Pam is involved with many fund raising projects wherever you see and hear Rawlco Radio.


Daniel Simair, SkipTheDishes & Pivot Furniture Technologies

Daniel has an intense fear of public speaking and willingly admits he was bested by Wanda Hunchak artfully convincing him to do the event.  After over a decade in enterprise software, he now works at building large scale companies in the prairies to help increase flexibility in people’s lives.

Daniel is best known for having siblings who founded several successful companies in the prairies including Harvest Builders, Skip the Dishes, Contango Strategies and Pivot Subscriptions and is married to a founder of the fastest growing startup in Saskatchewan: Belong Lifestyle.


Wayne Wilson, Business Furnishings

With over 45 years of experience and 15 years as president of Business Furnishings, Wayne Wilson has created strong and longstanding partnerships with customers across Saskatchewan.

Wayne has had extensive volunteer work that includes his work includes the NSBA, Huskie Football Foundation, Jump Start Hockey League, and many others

Wayne’s hobbies are golf and old timer’s hockey.


Attendees are expected to maintain 2m of distance from individuals who are outside of one’s “bubble,” including in lines for registration, washroom, or the bar in your room. For this event, we are considering those who you registered with to be your bubble. Attendees are expected to not congregate in common areas and event staff will ask those loitering to proceed to their designated hall/room.

It is highly recommended that attendees wear masks while inside the venue and not seated at your table, including as you enter the lobby. Prairieland Park staff will have masks available for those who do not have their own.

Payment at the bar will be credit or debit only. No cash will be accepted.


KPMG has been serving businesses in Saskatoon and the surrounding area since 1957.  KPMG Enterprise is dedicated to working with private businesses like yours. Whether  you’re an entrepreneur, family business, or a fast-growing company, we understand what’s important to you. We can help you navigate your challenges—no matter the size and stage of your business.  

Aero Delivery’s purpose is providing unequalled temperature-controlled solutions to, through and from the Prairies. 

Banda Marketing Group assists owner-managed businesses with strategic planning, strategic marketing, sales management, and proposal management decisions.

Business Development Bank of Canada. We help create and develop strong Canadian businesses through financing, advisory services and capital, with a focus on small and medium sized enterprises.  

Con-Tech has been proudly providing structures and building solutions to Saskatchewan’s growing economy since 1994. 

 Impacting people and community, accidentally on purpose through our world class collision repair. 


2006: Les Dube, Trevor Hewison, Russ Marcoux, Jim Yuel

2008: Ken Achs, Florian Prossberg, George Reddekopp, Gavin Semple

2009: Dave Doepker, Henry Hamm, Betty Ann Letrace-Henderson, Bryan Leverick

2010: Dennis Goll, Kerny Korchinski, Mark Macleod, Wally Mah

2011: Bill Edwards, Phil Elenko, Grant Kook, Ernie Shaw

2012: Gene Dupuis, Wendy Morris, Erwin Siemens, Norm Wallace

2013: Spencer Early, Gord Haddock, JoeAnne Hardy, Lorne Wright

2014: Clay Dowling, Glen Dzaidyk, Penney Murphy, Ray Penner

2015: John Cross, Janet Keim, Jim Nowakowski, Greg Yuel

2016: Lynne Fafard, Don Nuefeld, Bill Peterson, Herb Pinder Jr.

2017: Merlis Belsher, Jack Brodsky, Barry Ghiglione, Marion Ghiglione

2018: Laurie Bradley, Judy Harwood, Neil McMillan, Wade Mitchell

2019: Terry Bergan, Christine Hrudka, Brenda Nowakowski, Joe Vidal


Thank you to our Committee Members:

Chelsea Stebner, Parr Auto Body (Chair)

Todd Brandt, Tourism Saskatoon

Clay Dowling, Ghost Transportation Service

James Fraser, ASL Paving

Wanda Hunchak, Westcap Management

Alan Migneault, AJM Management Corp

Keith Moen, NSBA

Jim Nowakowski, JNE Welding

Kristy Rempel, Saskatoon Prairieland Park

Andrew Shaw, NSBA

Melony Ward, NSBA

Jessica Wisniewski, NSBA


Thank you to the NSBA Board of Directors:

James Fraser, ASL Paving (Chair)

Milton Taylor, Imagery Photography (Vice-Chair)

Alan Migneault, AJM Management Corp (Past Chair)

Ken Achs, Mid-West Group of Companies

Tracy Arno, Essence Talent Solutions

Adele Buettner, AgriBiz Communications Corp

JoeAnne Hardy, WBM Technologies Inc.

Allison Hunter, Hunter’s Bowling Centers

Andrey Olinov, Complete Technologies

      Jackie Pilon, Self-Employed

Dean Staff, Pricewaterhouse Coopers LLP