2019 Business Builder Awards, presented by Nutrien, Winners

Posted on March 25, 2019 in ,

2019 Business Builder Awards, presented by Nutrien, Winners

More than 600 business and community leaders gathered at Prairieland Park for the NSBA’s 22nd Annual Business Builder Awards, presented by Nutrien, on Wednesday, March 22, 2019. The following awards were presented:

Business Builder Award – Korpan Tractor

Community Builder Award – Just For You Day Spa

Employee Retention & Development Award – Loraas Disposal North Ltd.

Growth & Market Expansion Award – Vendasta

Member of the Year – Chad Leverick, Alliance Energy

New Direction Award – Brandt Industries

Pursuit of Excellence Award – JNE Welding Limited Partnership

Quality Management Award – Complete Technologies

Safe Employer Award – Industrial Machine & Mfg Inc

Shirley Ryan Lifetime Achievement Award – Kent Smith-Windsor

Small Business Award – Echelon Wealth Partners

Team Building Award – SREDA

Young Promising Entrepreneur Award – Crew Rowhouse

“On behalf of the NSBA Board and members, I congratulate this year’s Business Builder Award recipients,” says NSBA Board Chair, Alan Migneault.  “2018 presented some great opportunities and also some very challenging times, and this group of companies has not only navigated those waters, but done so with success.  They have demonstrated endurance, creativity and a commitment to our great community.  These companies and their leaders provide inspiring examples for all Saskatchewan businesses.”

This year’s awards banquet marked the return of the Text 2 Vote system for the Young Promising Entrepreneur Award, as well as the Business Builder Award. The Business Builder Award finalists are selected by nominations from the membership in advance of the banquet, with the winner being determined through a ‘text-to-vote’ competition at the banquet. The Young Promising Entrepreneur Award featured the four finalists pitching their business ideas to the gathered audience and encouraging the guests to vote in favour of their favourite pitch.

Since its inception in 2010, the Shirley Ryan Lifetime Achievement Award is named after the NSBA’s beloved Executive Director who held her position with the organization until her official retirement in 2009. The winner of this prestigious award was Kent Smith-Windsor, formerly of the Greater Saskatoon Chamber of Commerce.

The only other individual award that was given out at the banquet was the Member of the Year, awarded to an individual from the NSBA membership who has portrayed exceptional commitment to the NSBA and exemplifies the image of a successful and involved community leader. This year’s recipient was Chad Leverick of Alliance Energy.


“We bill this as a night where we honour our own,” says Keith Moen, Executive Director for the NSBA. The theme for the 2019 Business Builder Awards has been coined as Persevering to Possibilities. Moen says,

“This evening is about acknowledging and celebrating the success, leadership, ingenuity, and in some cases, the persistence of our peers. This year’s theme recognizes the journeys taken and obstacles faced by the businesses and people in our community as they strive towards goals, success, and well-being.”


Sign up for NSBA News
Subscribe to our email list for our weekly newsletter, upcoming events, and all the latest.

Sign Up Now